Index of this page:
Related contents of the help
There are two types of file locking: (1) permanent locking and (2) locking of changes by other users (check-out), that is temporary and that the user applies during the time he makes changes in the file, to preserve it from changes made by other users. Here, we describe this second type of locking.
While the file is locked, the remaining users will only be able to download the original file that existed before the lock. On the contrary, the user that has done the locking will download his last modified version and if he views the history of file changes, he will see the versions prior to and after the locking, modified by him. The different versions are differentiated by different background colors.
When the user unlocks the file, he is shown two options:
- Unlock and save the changes made (check-in). In this case, the original file is replaced by the last version with the modifications he has made, that are then accessible to other users.
- Unlock and discard changes. In this case, one reverts to the situation prior to the lock.
In the figure is shown the files section of a “Smart Box”.
- Locked file. The blocked file is displayed with a different background color to the remaining files.
- Lock changes made by other users. Option of the right mouse button to do the locking.
The locking and unlocking of a file has an effect only if the CIFKM element is saved.
- Unlock and save changes (check-in). This option of the right mouse button only appears in the files that were previously locked and only for the user who has locked them. This operation unlocks the file and replaces the originator by the last modified version.
- Unlock without saving changes. This option of the right mouse button only appears in the files previuosly blocked and only for the user who has locked them. This operation unlocks the file and reverts it to the situation prior to the lock.
All the files locked by the user are displayed for him in this window of blocked files of the floating icon menu, from where he can operate on them using the right mouse button menu.
1.List of files locked by the user.
2.Original version of the file prior to the lock. This is the version that the remaining users may view and download during the lock.
3. Versions of the file with different modifications made by the user. They are only visible and accessible to the user who has done the locking.
4. Floating icon with its menu displayed.